Switch to: References

Citations of:

Totalism Without Repugnance

In Jeff McMahan, Tim Campbell, James Goodrich & Ketan Ramakrishnan (eds.), Essays in Honour of Derek Parfit: Population Ethics (forthcoming)

Add citations

You must login to add citations.
  1. Sorites On What Matters.Theron Pummer - forthcoming - In Jeff McMahan, Timothy Campbell, Ketan Ramakrishnan & Jimmy Goodrich (eds.), Ethics and Existence: The Legacy of Derek Parfit. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
    Ethics in the tradition of Derek Parfit’s Reasons and Persons is riddled with sorites-like arguments, which lead us by what seem innocent steps to seemingly false conclusions. Take, for example, spectrum arguments for the Repugnant Conclusion that appeal to slight differences in quality of life. Several authors have taken the view that, since spectrum arguments are structurally analogous to sorites arguments, the correct response to spectrum arguments is structurally analogous to the correct response to sorites arguments. I argue against this (...)
    Download  
     
    Export citation  
     
    Bookmark